Boot drive configuration file ideas

Hello,

Absolutely enthralled with S6. I’ve come to appreciate the exclusion of a screen. Using my hands and ears rather than eyes is refreshing with a new synthesizer. No menu-diving! :heart:

However, the lack of screen also creates some limitations for the firmware that can be implemented while keeping the UI sensible. Worst-case scenario users have to recall increasing amount of shift-functions that are not marked on the panel as there’s no screen to reflect new menu items etc.

There’s already been some discussion about possibility for a configuration file in the boot drive to alter / modify some deeper settings or even architectural aspects of the synthesizers. This type of configuration file in the Boot drive would give UDO additional “UI room” for features. I thought that this idea deserves it’s own topic for discussion.

I’ve had lots of experiences with config files on the modular world. They are a simple way to give users a handle on some aspects that they would like to change / address but that are not pivotal to the central operation of the synthesizer.

Some ideas that come to mind:

#1:Cross-mod type: “Exponential FM” (default), “Linear FM”, “Linear through-zero FM”, “Oscillator feedback”, “Binary combine”
Explanation: Exponential FM is pretty intense most of the time. The possibility to introduce linear, LTZFM or even single-oscillator feedback (will introduce pitch instability but it’s fun!) could open up cross mod for more uses. Binary combine would use the cross mod fader to switch between AND / OR / XOR etc. binary logic operators between the values of DDS1 and DDS2 this is a classic for achieving brutal digital artifacts and would fit the Super 6 aesthetic well IMO.

#2: Switch Bend+ / Bend- modulators to other sources such note number (discussed in some other topic already), LFO1 (would be great but I don’t think it’s happening), ENV2 or even Bend± (combination of the two)