Recursive Envelope Modulation?

I found this method on another Super 6 Discussion Forum thread

I did some reading on it. I’ve tried it but I’m not very good at it. Has anyone here tried this method on the Super 6?

2 Likes

Not tried it on my Super 6 yet, but used to do it on my Blacet modular ENVs all the time, I even installed a switch for it at one stage. You’d get really nice thwappy exponential envelope shapes that were great for percussive sounds. I’ll give it a go on the Super 6!

1 Like

Please share your results here! I’d love to see them. I was trying to get a logarithmic shape with tests on the attack stage of the Super 6, but I’m positive that I’m doing something wrong because I was failing lol

1 Like

I went back and tried again today and I got the hang of it. I sincerely wish that ENV 2 was available as a mod source for this kind of thing so that it can be routed to itself without needing to use ENV 1. It’d make for some really cool flexibility. @udo-audio

Normal Attack shape of the Super 6 appears to be a bit convex - is this considered normal for analog filter synths?
Normal ADSR Shape Super6

And these after recursive envelope modulation.

Exponential/Concave
Concave (- modulation)

Logarithmic/Convex

Convex (+ modulation)

2 Likes

Depends on the synth. Envelopes can be tuned by the designer to have any sort of curve shape they desire. Still good to know what shapes we’re working with on the S6 though.

At least they’re not linear like some of Dave Smith’s recent synths. With linear (especially on decays) you need to do some messing around with the mod matrix in every patch, just to try and stop them sounding crap.

Thank you for the insight.

Agreed. All I had to go on was the depiction in the manual, which was probably just a generic ADSR for example’s sake.

I’ve never played a Dave Smith instrument ever, but I’m a little surprised to hear that, considering how much they are praised for being “more analog” lol.